insecurities

I’ve been suffering from a touch of food insecurity.

Without a garden full of vegies or the money to buy food, I was starting to feel a bit insecure about accessing food here in town. I could, of course, go bin diving – and still may – but that would most likely involve being out at night in a car (which I don’t have) and it’s cold!

So, thanks to a tip from Emma, I contacted a local organic vegie box delivery scheme, Munch Crunch Organics, to ask if they needed help. I now have a weekly 4 hour stint out on the job, at one of their farms, in the lovely warm winter sun. I get a box of fresh, local, organic produce delivered to my door every week! How lucky am I! It feels very weird to be placing my order online though – it’s effectively shopping and I haven’t done that for a while!

I have also started volunteering at a local food rescue kitchen called Liberation Larder here in Byron. I visit the kitchen once a week for 2 1/2 hours, helping with serving and cleaning, and can access a meal and some left over bits and pieces and meet some really good people.

I’ve heard the term ‘food security’ a lot in the past, especially working in community services and in a community garden. To have secure access to good quality food is a basic right. Genuine food insecurity exists for many in our country and around the world. While the amount of food I’ve accessed here in Byron is enough for a single person like myself, it would not necessarily be a solution for a struggling single parent family or other people who regularly experience food insecurity. Just feeling a small touch of this was pretty anxiety-inducing.

I’m not sure why it is that people ever have to struggle to get enough food. I could give you a few reasons and I’m sure you will have your own theories. I just keep telling myself that I don’t think I am making things worse by doing what I am doing. I hope that by living this way there is a small effect that allows someone else to live a little easier.

5 thoughts on “insecurities

  1. Yea phew, I hear you. Was going through my version of food shortage a few years ago, just past Christmas. Then I chanced on an online course in homesteading. The lady presenting it had a dose of it over a whole year when her partner lost his job and it took him that long to find another one. Anyways, she solved it buy establishing a big pantry. Just like our grand and grand grand parents no doubt did to pull through crapy seasons, droughts, wars and so on. I realised that a big pantry is a type of savings account. The presenter said one year is what she stores away and I bet that is what our grandparents also did so with a year of rice, potatoes, tomatoes, lentils and so on tucked and preserved away a sense of safety comes over is. For me I have maybe 2 months and a bit stored and I keep topping it up. With a garden for fresh produce here and there when available and I have foraged for wild greens at times too. I got through those tight spots, just but yes this system is great. Definitely feel safer knowing I can ride out most rough patches and eventually “those too do pass”. Besides, it is surprising how much for arguments sake 500g of rice is marked up compared to buying a 25kg sack of it. Unfortunately my current place can’t store a years worth but I am aspiring to such a setup in the future.

    Like

  2. Her name is Sharon Astyk and she also writes about it in her book Independance Days. I like the title of it too. I’d say that this was quite common a few generations ago and there must be quite a few people out there that know how to put produce storage systems together so food is preserved well and lasts the whole season and more. In another place I read that in France a monastery had a cool cellar where peaches were stored over winter but there was a trick, the had to be separated or from memory the final ripening would be triggered or something like that. Who would have thought ….peaches can keep for many months? My organic shop ones are expensive as and if not eaten in 2 weeks tops it’s all over.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

