Living in the Moment

I sit here in my friend’s home, with all the physical comforts I could possibly need, reading new research on our climate’s demise. I have lost a close friend, am supporting my very dear friend in her time of greatest need and have said a final goodbye to my special someone who has rocked my world for the past 10 years. 

What do I write about? What is my moneyless life under these circumstances? What does it all mean? 

I’m not living my ‘normal’ moneyless life at the moment because of all this stuff the dying weeks of 2016 has thrown at me. I am here to support my friend for as long as needed. I can barely even think about my moneyless life.

All I can say is that I have been reminded again of the understandable dominance of our immediate emotional needs over the needs for the survival of a habitable planet.

We talk often, here in our fortunate lives in the fortunate West, about not living in the moment. When looking through my eyes, we are actually quite good at living momentarily. 

It seems there is nothing else to be done when your world falls apart. You live from one moment to the next, trying to get by and do the best you can to ensure you and your loved ones have their basic needs covered – for now.

The planet can wait.

I don’t blame or judge anyone for this. This is life as a human being in this time and place. I am one of the few who usually has the luxury of time to ponder the future – not as tied to present day survival (at least not in the same way). And I am scared for our collective future.

How can I judge anyone for being driven by immediate needs? I am doing the very same thing while trying to get through this shitty time. I have driven places I didn’t really need to. I have eaten more than I really needed to. I have thrown stuff away that I could have rescued and repurposed. I have used more hot water and gas than I needed to. 

I am very aware of justifying one action that meets my immediate emotional needs over another action that would meet long-term planetary needs. 

I get it. We all do it. I cannot judge others for their need to live in the present. We’ve got kids to feed and educate, homes to be paid for, jobs to get to, food to gather.

Our long-term planetary survival takes a back seat in all this. 

And I am scared.

 

5 thoughts on “Living in the Moment

  1. Your support has been invaluable. Your love unconditional. Your loss real. Your actions have been honourable. The adventure is far from over. Thank you for being so real and present.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

