being of service

One of the benefits of living without money is the freedom it allows me to be of service.

I like that I am not off to work 8 hours a day, with little time or energy at the end of the day to really help. I’ve given myself the freedom to be able to give from the heart – without ties to the world of wages, mortgages, and the usual responsibilities of life. I have no job to rush off to, no deadlines, no money to be made so here I am, where I am needed.

I’ve spent the last 8 weeks staying with, and supporting, my friend as she attempts to heal from the sudden loss of her husband.

I am fulfilling one of the primary goals of my moneyless lifestyle – to help others.

An excerpt from my journal back when I was preparing for this journey reads:

April 25th 2014

There seems to be an amazingly easy way to touch real joy – help. In helping others, giving to others, we are able to feel again, in a way that not much else can bring.

And then when I first began moneyless living:

1st March 2015

I am finding that just helping out where it feels right to and when it feels right to is what is directing my movements…….

Now:

It feels very important to be here to help Sharon when she most needs me. I would not be able to be of service like this if I was living a ‘normal’ life. Now, I have the time; I have the means. I am really seeing this as one of the most important benefits of the moneyless life. Thank goodness I can be here for my dear friend.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I also get something out of being here.

I have the time to do my own mourning for a lost friend. I am with my extended, non-blood, ‘family’. I have been kept busy caring for others, not dwelling too much on my own losses. I am fed, housed and nurtured. I am very fortunate. I have many lovely people wanting to support me too

Even in the most trying of times, there are blessings to be found.

 

2 thoughts on “being of service

Leave a Reply

